Waikato name Sevens teams for the Bayleys National Sevens.

11 January 2018 at 5.00pm
2018 Sevens teams

Waikato Men's and Women's Sevens teams have been announced for the 2018 Bayleys National Sevens tournament at Rotorua International Stadium this weekend (January 13th & 14th).

Waikato Men's continue to be captained by Zac Guildford and after a disappointing 2017 Northern Regional Sevens Tournament, Waikato bounced back by winning the Bay of Plenty Provincial Sevens tournament last weekend (January 6th) for the second year in a row. Waikato went through the tournament undefeated, beating Counties Manukau 24-17 in the final. Waikato have been placed in Pool A at the Bayleys National Sevens alongside Counties Manukau, Taranaki and Wanganui.

Waikato Women's will be looking cap off their 2017/18 sevens campaign by continuing their recent success by trying to add a national title to their 2017 Northern Regional Sevens title they won in Cambridge last month. The team will be captained by Huia Harding and the women again find themselves in Pool A and will face Canterbury, Otago and Poverty Bay on day one of the tournament.

The Bayleys National Sevens tournament kicks off at 10.05am from Rotorua International Stadium this Saturday (13th January), view both men’s and women’s teams below.


Waikato Men's Sevens

Leigh Bristowe

Jordan Bunce

Liam Coombes-Fabling

Tyler Campbell

Zac Guildford (c)

Josaan Levian

Niven Longopoa

Sevu Reece

Saynarvat Srisawat

Dwayne Sweeney

Rupeni Tamani

Iliesa Ratuva Tavuyara

Isaac Te Tamaki

Vilimai Tuipulotu


Waikato Women's Sevens

Shakira Baker

Ariana Bayler

Huia Harding (c)

Chyna Hohepa

Jazmin Hotham

Cheyelle Robins-Reti

Leanna Ryan

Montessa Tairakena

Kennedy Tahau

Terina Te Tamaki

Tenika Willison

Stacey Waaka


Men's Day 1 Schedule: vs Taranaki at 10.25am, vs Counties Manukau at 12.25pm, vs Wanganui at 3.35pm.

Women's Day 1 Schedule: vs Poverty Bay at 12.25pm, vs Otago at 2.35pm, vs Canterbury at 5.15pm.