Waikato Sevens teams announced for Northern Region Sevens

6 December 2017 at 11.00am
15384501 10154871301686318 4561962393089786388 o2

The Waikato Men's and Women’s Sevens teams have been announced for this weekend's Northern Regional Sevens at Memorial Park Cambridge.

The Waikato Men’s team has announced a strong side that will be captained by Zac Guildford, who is one of five returning players from the 2016 squad as they look to win back to back Northern Regional tournaments; with the ultimate goal of winning their second national title in three years at the 2018 Bayley’s National Sevens tournament in January.

The Waikato Women’s team has named a mixture of youth and experience in their squad with the inclusion of three current Black Ferns sevens players, Terina Te Tamaki, Stacey Waaka and Tenika Willison. The squad also features five players making their sevens debut for the region (see squad below).

The tournament will feature six men’s teams from Waikato, Northland, Auckland, North Harbour, Counties Manukau and Bay of Plenty, plus five women's teams from the same regions excluding Northland.

There is a change of format to this year’s men’s competition with the pools and finals system being dropped in favour of everyone playing everyone. Points will be accumulated throughout the day with the seedings for the Bayley’s National Sevens tournament based off the standing at the end of the day. For the women’s part of the tournament there will still be a finals system at the end of the day which is scheduled from 5.40pm.

The Northern Regional Sevens matches begin at 10.00am with the women’s finals scheduled from 5.40pm.

Waikato Men's Sevens

Zac Guildford - (c)

Sevu Reece

Tyler Campbell

Rupeni Tamani

Josaan Levien

Jordan Bunce*

Reginald Sikivou*

Liam Coombes-Fabling*

Leigh Bristowe

Viliami Tuipulotu*

Dwayne Sweeney

Iliesa Ratuva Tavuyara 


Waikato Women's Sevens

Chyna Hohepa *

Terina Te Tamaki

Huia Harding

Cheyelle Robins-Reti

Tenika Willison

Leanna Ryan*

Stacey Waaka

Ariana Bayler

Hannah Brough*

Danielle Paenga

Rina Paraone*

Kennedy Tahau*

* = Waikato Sevens debut

Men's Northern Regional Sevens Schedule: vs Bay of Plenty at 10:40am, vs Northland at 12:00pm, vs North Harbour at 1:20pm, vs Auckland at 2:40pm, vs Counties Manukau at 5:00pm.

Women's Northern Regional Sevens Schedule: vs North Harbour at 10:00am, vs Auckland at 12:40pm, vs Counties Manukau at 2:00pm, vs Bay of Plenty at 3:40pm.